Over the weekend, I completed my first day as a volunteer with Habitat For Humanity.  I had a great time.  If you’re not familiar with the organization (which I’m still learning about), it’s goal is to use volunteer and donor contributions to construct housing at the lowest possible expense.  These savings are then used to help combat homelessness.  It has chapters throughout the US, as well as several other countries around the world (though it looks like just the Western hemisphere).

The main reason for joining up, as strange as it probably sounds, isn’t really an altruistic one.  Instead, I’m a DIY’er and I enjoy building.  I’ve worked on quite a few projects in the past, ranging from furniture (the desk I’m sitting at is something I built myself) to porches and interior housing.  When I was younger, I was always fascinated by construction and considered on more than one occasion about going into the business.

What I like about a volunteer organization is the ability to work with others – including professionals, as they’re on site as supervisors – to learn new skills, get some exercise, and have a chance to really work with my hands.  My life is very cerebral and sedentary, and so I relish the chance to get outside and get to work.

I’m still learning about the organization, but I have a lot of enthusiasm for it.  The group I’m affiliated with meets once a month, but I’m wondering if I can volunteer more often.  For instance, I have this weekend free and I wouldn’t mind going back and putting in some more time.  Just not sure if that’s appropriate or not.

Anyway, I’ll keep this site updated on my experiences with the organization, and maybe some photos of a job site.  I had a lot of fun (and I’m a bit sore) and I’m looking forward to doing it again.

