This is the second part of a three-part series I’ve put together on my personal experiences with the Nook (see the first one).  The most critical component to the Nook is what content is available.  I bought the device for its ecosystem: I want to be able to find and buy eBooks, newspapers, and magazines instantly, and I don’t want to deal with anything else (like file formats, sync’ing with my computer, etc).  In general, the Nook does this very well.

BN eBook store missing some titles
There have been a handful of books that I’ve been interested in reading on my device that aren’t available in the B&N store.  Some books just aren’t in eBook format, but there have been a handful that appear in Amazon and not B&N.  Here’s a short list of ones I’ve noticed:

I don’t know if I can buy an eBook from the Amazon store and read it on my Nook.  I suspect I can, because the Nook supposedly can read many different eBook formats, but I haven’t tried it yet.  If anyone has tried it, let me know.

Good selection of newspapers
The main newspaper I’m interested in is the Wall Street Journal.  It’s on there, and I really like the price point of $0.99 an issue.  This suites me just fine.  On a Sunday morning, I can grab a cup of coffee and a muffin and sit at my kitchen table reading the paper.  I don’t want a subscription to the paper as I don’t have time to read anything but the occasional weekend issue.

There are a handful of popular papers on there, including the Washington Post, but it’s a little disappointing that the NY Times isn’t.

The Magazines selection is woefully small
The most glaring content issue is the lack of magazines.  I’m glad to see The Economist and The New Yorker, but that’s about it.  Where are the general interest magazines, like Time, Newsweek, or my favorite, BusinessWeek?  If B&N puts BusinessWeek on there, I’ll cancel my paper subscription and switch over.

B&N needs to really beef up their magazine selection.  Right now, there’s zero in there for the average reader, and even I’m not particularly interested in the titles.

The Daily needs better content
There are two regular columns that appear in The Daily from B&N sources: Daybook and Grin and Tonic.  Daybook is similar to a “This Day in History”, and includes some interesting historical tidbits that I enjoy.  However, Grin and Tonic is a dud.  It’s had a few humorous creates, but on the whole, it’s not terribly interesting.

Personally, I’d like to see a selection of columns or blog posts made available for user selection.  I love the idea of The Daily, where there’s new content available to read, but right now it’s not terribly interesting.

Content is King
On the whole, there are a lot of eBooks available for the Nook in the B&N store that are sure to keep you occupied for quite a while.  However, if you’re like me and want a wide selection of content from various mediums, then you’ll be a bit disappointed.  B&N needs to remember that the Nook’s power is in its ecosystem, and it should do what it can to beef that ecosystem up by getting as much content as possible to the device.

