Over the last month or so, I’ve been absolutely engrossed in a series of eBooks.  First, I tried Dracula by Bram Stoker, a Project Gutenberg book, inside my Barnes and Noble desktop eReader.  I also moved to the iPhone with it with great results.

I originally gave eBooks a try as I’ve been fascinated with the new nook eReader.  I’ve followed the Kindle and found it interesting, but something about the nook really took my interest.  It’s similar to the Kindle, but seems to have just the right mix of features to make it especially appealing.  I’ve placed an order, though unfortunately they’re backordered through early January.  I took another look at the Kindle in an effort to see if I could get as excited about it as I am about the nook, but to no avail.  Something about it just doesn’t do it for me.  I’ve kept my order with the nook and I’m excited for when it will arrive.

After finishing Dracula, I moved on to other books.  Next up was The Time Machine by H.G. Wells.  I had read The War of the Worlds several times in the past, so I thought I’d give this book a try.  I was stunned!  A very quick read, but absolutely enthralling.

After that, I went in search of something equally quick, and read through The Art of War, by Sun Tzu.  I own a paper copy of the book, but never actually read it.  Going through it quickly on my iPhone, I found it quite interesting.  Especially the parallels with modern business management.  I’m positive I’ve seen books in the bookstore about applying to today’s business world.  I’ll have to keep my eyes out for an interesting eBook on the subject.

After The Art of War, I read The Invisible Man, also by H.G. Wells.  It too was a great read, and I was inspired throughout to reimagine how an visibly-challenged individual could get by in modern society.  I really enjoy Wells’ writing style, and I’ll return to his other books soon.

Right now, I decided to take a break from reading fiction and instead turn to the non-fiction world, with the very popular Freakonomics.  I’m very glad I did.  It’s a fascinating book, which I’ll be talking about at length on this blog.

If you haven’t, try an eBook.  It’s gotten me to read far more than I have via paper, primarily due to the access.  If you have it on your iPhone or computer, then you’re unlikely to be away from it at any point in the day.  During some down time, you can quickly pick it up and start reading.

