One of the reasons I’ve started this blog is to use it as a practice area for my writing.  I’ve always wanted to write a book, and I’ve even made several attempts at it.  But I’ve never been able to get seriously into it.

I think the biggest reason I’ve been unsuccessful in writing isn’t a lack of motivation: it’s ultimately a lack of practice.  When I sit down to write I’m often stymied: I want to write a great sentence, paragraph, page; but I’m never satisfied with what I produce.

For instance, just recently I sat down to write a detective novel from the point of view of the villain.  Simple enough, right?  I have an interesting twist to it, and I know the subject material well.  It’s in a genre a little different than what the mainstream is used to, and I think it could have broad appeal.

So far, I’ve written only 1 (mediocre) page.

Why is that?  I’ve found that the answer is I’m constantly seeking perfection and am unable to settle with mediocre.  Yet I feel like whatever I produce is just mediocre.  I compare my 1 written page to another novel I’ve read and I feel like it just doesn’t measure up.

I can’t quite put my finger on what’s different.  I know I’m a decent writer in that I understand sentence structure, I have a workable vocabulary, and a marketing/business-oriented mind to know what is likely to appeal to readers.  At the same time I’m not confident in what I produce.

The goal of this blog is to just write: anything that comes to mind, whatever the topic.  The idea is to use this medium to practice my craft, and if it has appeal to other people out there, I’ll be thrilled.

